Jenkins wins San Marcos City Council seat by 287 votes

Sharon Jenkins has won a San Marcos City Council seat by a margin of 287 votes, according to San Diego County election results made official this week.

Jenkins, 55, a Realtor and San Marcos school board member, defeated Mike Hansen. Hansen, 26, a  San Marcos city traffic commissioner, initially led the race in early November until results from provisional ballots swung the race in Jenkins’ favor. Officially, Jenkins garnered 26.43 percent of the vote to Hansen’s 25.69.

Councilwoman Rebecca Jones won a second four-year term on the San Marcos City Council , winning 36.02 percent of the vote.

Leave a Reply